Popular Posts

Sunday, December 4, 2011

America win World Cup

The United States won the Golf World Cup after a final round of 67 was enough for Matt Kuchar and Gary Woodland to capture the title by two strokes from Germany and England.

Starting the foursomes two behind overnight leaders Ireland, Kuchar and Woodland carded six birdies and a bogey at the Mission Hills Resort on Hainan Island to finish 24 under par and lift the trophy for a 24th time.

England enjoyed a strong finish to the tournament as Ian Poulter and Justin Rose returned a 63 that featured an eagle, eight birdies and a bogey to end 22 under, tied for second with Germany, who posted a 69.

Irish duo Rory McIlroy and Graeme McDowell, meanwhile, could only produce an even-par 72 as they missed out on the last day for the second consecutive time after finishing runners-up to Italy in 2009, their score of 21 under par leaving them in a tie for fourth with Scotland, Holland and Australia.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Popular Posts